HemGrupperDiskuteraMerTidsandan
Sök igenom hela webbplatsen
Denna webbplats använder kakor för att fungera optimalt, analysera användarbeteende och för att visa reklam (om du inte är inloggad). Genom att använda LibraryThing intygar du att du har läst och förstått våra Regler och integritetspolicy. All användning av denna webbplats lyder under dessa regler.

Resultat från Google Book Search

Klicka på en bild för att gå till Google Book Search.

Laddar...

Goliath

av Tochi Onyebuchi

Andra författare: Se under Andra författare.

MedlemmarRecensionerPopularitetGenomsnittligt betygOmnämnanden
280995,950 (3.43)8
"'Onyebuchi sets fire to the boundary between fiction and reality, and brings a crumbling city and an all too plausible future to vibrant life. Riveting, disturbing, and rendered in masterful detail.'-Leigh Bardugo In his adult novel debut, Hugo, Nebula, Locus, and NAACP Image Award finalist and ALA Alex and New England Book Award winner Tochi Onyebuchi delivers a sweeping science fiction epic in the vein of Samuel R. Delany and Station Eleven In the 2050s, Earth has begun to empty. Those with the means and the privilege have departed the great cities of the United States for the more comfortable confines of space colonies. Those left behind salvage what they can from the collapsing infrastructure. As they eke out an existence, their neighborhoods are being cannibalized. Brick by brick, their houses are sent to the colonies, what was once a home now a quaint reminder for the colonists of the world that they wrecked. A primal biblical epic flung into the future, Goliath weaves together disparate narratives-a space-dweller looking at New Haven, Connecticut as a chance to reconnect with his spiraling lover; a group of laborers attempting to renew the promises of Earth's crumbling cities; a journalist attempting to capture the violence of the streets; a marshal trying to solve a kidnapping-into a richly urgent mosaic about race, class, gentrification, and who is allowed to be the hero of any history"--… (mer)
Ingen/inga
Laddar...

Gå med i LibraryThing för att få reda på om du skulle tycka om den här boken.

Det finns inga diskussioner på LibraryThing om den här boken.

» Se även 8 omnämnanden

Visa 1-5 av 9 (nästa | visa alla)
Since this novel has been published, I've picked it up and put it down several times. Picked it up because of a recognition that Onyebuchi is an important writer. Put it down because I'm currently having enough issues with processing the evils of today, let alone the evils of the future. Having said that the positives of this book are the grace of Onyebuchi's prose, and how he is essentially writing the the African-American experience of oppression into the record of traditional American speculative fiction. The downside is that, yeah, you really have to be in the right mood to tackle this novel, as while I can understand the mosaic-like approach that was adopted, your concentration really has to be engaged without having a specific protagonist to carry you through to the ending. ( )
  Shrike58 | Feb 24, 2024 |
Told in first, second, and third person points of view through fictional newspaper articles and diary entries and narratives, this dystopic novel is set in the 2050s. In what appears to be a parallel of white flight following the 1960s race riots, people with the means and privilege are departing Earth for the first American suburban space colony after a viral plague provokes a great political divide. Those left behind in the radiation-poisoned, resource-depleted American wasteland salvage what they can from the collapsing infrastructure, scratching out a living as their homes and neighborhoods are being dismantled to send to the colonies. Mr. Onyebuchi’s novel is a tapestry woven from the strands of structural inequality, racism, classism, poverty, and privilege; by no means a pretty book, but certainly a thought-provoking one. ( )
  bschweiger | Feb 4, 2024 |
There's absolutely no story here - just a bunch of random people doing random things in post-apocalyptic New York and chattering in a desultory, dull way that doesn't illuminate either the situation or their characters. ( )
  SChant | Apr 3, 2023 |
I couldn't get into this.
  Gwendydd | Jan 21, 2023 |
https://fromtheheartofeurope.eu/goliath-by-tochi-onyebuchi/

In America a few decades from now, white folks have mostly left the poisoned, plague-ridden land to live the high life in space, with people of colour left to scrabble around in the ruins. But there is a lot more to it than that enraging situation (not too different from where we are now); Onyebuchi plays with Biblical tropes, the dynamics of religion, of white folks unwittingly making things worse, sexuality and acceptance, all in rich prose which jumps along its own timeline without ever losing the run of itself. Recommended. ( )
  nwhyte | Nov 19, 2022 |
Visa 1-5 av 9 (nästa | visa alla)
inga recensioner | lägg till en recension

» Lägg till fler författare (1 möjlig)

Författarens namnRollTyp av författareVerk?Status
Tochi Onyebuchiprimär författarealla utgåvorberäknat
Campbell, TimBerättaremedförfattarevissa utgåvorbekräftat
Free, Kevin R.Berättaremedförfattarevissa utgåvorbekräftat
Jackson, JDBerättaremedförfattarevissa utgåvorbekräftat
Lazarre-White, AdamBerättaremedförfattarevissa utgåvorbekräftat
Small, ShaynaBerättaremedförfattarevissa utgåvorbekräftat
Sous La Terre, NidraBerättaremedförfattarevissa utgåvorbekräftat
Vélez, JulianaBerättaremedförfattarevissa utgåvorbekräftat
Willis, StephanieBerättaremedförfattarevissa utgåvorbekräftat
Du måste logga in för att ändra Allmänna fakta.
Mer hjälp finns på hjälpsidan för Allmänna fakta.
Vedertagen titel
Information från den engelska sidan med allmänna fakta. Redigera om du vill anpassa till ditt språk.
Originaltitel
Alternativa titlar
Första utgivningsdatum
Personer/gestalter
Viktiga platser
Viktiga händelser
Relaterade filmer
Motto
Dedikation
Information från den engelska sidan med allmänna fakta. Redigera om du vill anpassa till ditt språk.
To Amber
Inledande ord
Information från den engelska sidan med allmänna fakta. Redigera om du vill anpassa till ditt språk.
Before his flight to Earth, they had warned Jonathan about the "gangs."
Citat
Avslutande ord
Särskiljningsnotis
Förlagets redaktörer
På omslaget citeras
Ursprungsspråk
Kanonisk DDC/MDS
Kanonisk LCC

Hänvisningar till detta verk hos externa resurser.

Wikipedia på engelska

Ingen/inga

"'Onyebuchi sets fire to the boundary between fiction and reality, and brings a crumbling city and an all too plausible future to vibrant life. Riveting, disturbing, and rendered in masterful detail.'-Leigh Bardugo In his adult novel debut, Hugo, Nebula, Locus, and NAACP Image Award finalist and ALA Alex and New England Book Award winner Tochi Onyebuchi delivers a sweeping science fiction epic in the vein of Samuel R. Delany and Station Eleven In the 2050s, Earth has begun to empty. Those with the means and the privilege have departed the great cities of the United States for the more comfortable confines of space colonies. Those left behind salvage what they can from the collapsing infrastructure. As they eke out an existence, their neighborhoods are being cannibalized. Brick by brick, their houses are sent to the colonies, what was once a home now a quaint reminder for the colonists of the world that they wrecked. A primal biblical epic flung into the future, Goliath weaves together disparate narratives-a space-dweller looking at New Haven, Connecticut as a chance to reconnect with his spiraling lover; a group of laborers attempting to renew the promises of Earth's crumbling cities; a journalist attempting to capture the violence of the streets; a marshal trying to solve a kidnapping-into a richly urgent mosaic about race, class, gentrification, and who is allowed to be the hero of any history"--

Inga biblioteksbeskrivningar kunde hittas.

Bokbeskrivning
Haiku-sammanfattning

Pågående diskussioner

Ingen/inga

Populära omslag

Snabblänkar

Betyg

Medelbetyg: (3.43)
0.5
1 2
1.5
2 3
2.5 1
3 7
3.5 3
4 9
4.5
5 5

Är det här du?

Bli LibraryThing-författare.

 

Om | Kontakt | LibraryThing.com | Sekretess/Villkor | Hjälp/Vanliga frågor | Blogg | Butik | APIs | TinyCat | Efterlämnade bibliotek | Förhandsrecensenter | Allmänna fakta | 207,569,771 böcker! | Topplisten: Alltid synlig