HemGrupperDiskuteraMerTidsandan
Sök igenom hela webbplatsen
Denna webbplats använder kakor för att fungera optimalt, analysera användarbeteende och för att visa reklam (om du inte är inloggad). Genom att använda LibraryThing intygar du att du har läst och förstått våra Regler och integritetspolicy. All användning av denna webbplats lyder under dessa regler.

Resultat från Google Book Search

Klicka på en bild för att gå till Google Book Search.

The Villa: A Novel av Rachel Hawkins
Laddar...

The Villa: A Novel (utgåvan 2023)

av Rachel Hawkins (Författare)

MedlemmarRecensionerPopularitetGenomsnittligt betygOmnämnanden
5974240,583 (3.72)7
"From New York Times bestselling author Rachel Hawkins comes a deliciously wicked gothic suspense, set at an Italian villa with a dark history, for fans of Lucy Foley and Ruth Ware. As kids, Emily and Chess were inseparable. But by their 30s, their bond has been strained by the demands of their adult lives. So when Chess suggests a girls trip to Italy, Emily jumps at the chance to reconnect with her best friend. Villa Aestas in Orvieto is a high-end holiday home now, but in 1974, it was known as Villa Rosato, and rented for the summer by a notorious rock star, Noel Gordon. In an attempt to reignite his creative spark, Noel invites up-and-coming musician, Pierce Sheldon to join him, as well as Pierce's girlfriend, Mari, and her stepsister, Lara. But he also sets in motion a chain of events that leads to Mari writing one of the greatest horror novels of all time, Lara composing a platinum album--and ends in Pierce's brutal murder. As Emily digs into the villa's complicated history, she begins to think there might be more to the story of that fateful summer in 1974. That perhaps Pierce's murder wasn't just a tale of sex, drugs, and rock & roll gone wrong, but that something more sinister might have occurred--and that there might be clues hidden in the now-iconic works that Mari and Lara left behind. Yet the closer that Emily gets to the truth, the more tension she feels developing between her and Chess. As secrets from the past come to light, equally dangerous betrayals from the present also emerge--and it begins to look like the villa will claim another victim before the summer ends. Inspired by Fleetwood Mac, the Manson murders, and the infamous summer Percy and Mary Shelley spent with Lord Byron at a Lake Geneva castle--the birthplace of Frankenstein--The Villa welcomes you into its deadly legacy"--… (mer)
Medlem:Dotdala_Reads
Titel:The Villa: A Novel
Författare:Rachel Hawkins (Författare)
Info:St. Martin's Press (2023), 288 pages
Samlingar:Ditt bibliotek
Betyg:
Taggar:Digital Shelf

Verksinformation

The Villa av Rachel Hawkins

Laddar...

Gå med i LibraryThing för att få reda på om du skulle tycka om den här boken.

Det finns inga diskussioner på LibraryThing om den här boken.

» Se även 7 omnämnanden

Visa 1-5 av 42 (nästa | visa alla)
My second Rachel Hawkins book and I liked this one even more then The Heiress. This author twist and turn a story better the many I've read for a while. I loved the back drop story of others that have come before and how the plot took a different road due to actions of them.The characters worked my nerves for a bit but I ended up liking them in the end. ( )
  mchwest | Jun 9, 2024 |
In the current day when Chess suggests a girls trip to Italy, Emily jumps at the chance to reconnect with her best friend.
In the 1970s the story-line is inspired by the summer when Mary Shelly stayed in Venice with Claire, Lord Byron and John William Polidori, There writing Frankenstein.
The way both story lines concluded was very interesting and well done.
The story of relationships and what people will do for love. ( )
  nx74defiant | Feb 8, 2024 |
Midagi gootilikku siin küll ei olnud, aga kavalalt kirjutatud väga kaasahaarav lugu, mis flirtis kenasti hulga klišeedega, aga vedas suurepäraselt välja. ( )
  sashery | Jan 29, 2024 |
This book was a fun read. It was really quick read!! I don't both times lines in this book work as well for me. I was much more connected to the present stroyline. I also loved the main character is book and i often stuggle with that in thrillers. I also loved the italian settign and thought the mystery was unique and i def like the listening experience!! ( )
  lmauro123 | Dec 28, 2023 |
This book was a fun read. It was really quick read!! I don't both times lines in this book work as well for me. I was much more connected to the present stroyline. I also loved the main character is book and i often stuggle with that in thrillers. I also loved the italian settign and thought the mystery was unique and i def like the listening experience!! ( )
  lmauro123 | Dec 28, 2023 |
Visa 1-5 av 42 (nästa | visa alla)
inga recensioner | lägg till en recension
Du måste logga in för att ändra Allmänna fakta.
Mer hjälp finns på hjälpsidan för Allmänna fakta.
Vedertagen titel
Information från den engelska sidan med allmänna fakta. Redigera om du vill anpassa till ditt språk.
Originaltitel
Alternativa titlar
Första utgivningsdatum
Personer/gestalter
Information från den engelska sidan med allmänna fakta. Redigera om du vill anpassa till ditt språk.
Viktiga platser
Viktiga händelser
Relaterade filmer
Motto
Dedikation
Information från den engelska sidan med allmänna fakta. Redigera om du vill anpassa till ditt språk.
For Mary and Claire
Inledande ord
Information från den engelska sidan med allmänna fakta. Redigera om du vill anpassa till ditt språk.
Houses remember.

That was what Mr. O'Hare had said to Victoria the first day she and her family came to Somerton, the day that began the end of everything.

With it's publication in 1976, Lilith Rising blew open the doors of the Boys Club occupied by such horror authors as William Peter Blatty, Jay Anson, and Thomas Tryon, a feat made even more impressive by the youth of its author. -Prologue
Somewhere around the time she started calling herelf "Chess," I realized I might actually hate my best friend. -Chapter One
Citat
Avslutande ord
Särskiljningsnotis
Förlagets redaktörer
På omslaget citeras
Ursprungsspråk
Kanonisk DDC/MDS
Kanonisk LCC

Hänvisningar till detta verk hos externa resurser.

Wikipedia på engelska

Ingen/inga

"From New York Times bestselling author Rachel Hawkins comes a deliciously wicked gothic suspense, set at an Italian villa with a dark history, for fans of Lucy Foley and Ruth Ware. As kids, Emily and Chess were inseparable. But by their 30s, their bond has been strained by the demands of their adult lives. So when Chess suggests a girls trip to Italy, Emily jumps at the chance to reconnect with her best friend. Villa Aestas in Orvieto is a high-end holiday home now, but in 1974, it was known as Villa Rosato, and rented for the summer by a notorious rock star, Noel Gordon. In an attempt to reignite his creative spark, Noel invites up-and-coming musician, Pierce Sheldon to join him, as well as Pierce's girlfriend, Mari, and her stepsister, Lara. But he also sets in motion a chain of events that leads to Mari writing one of the greatest horror novels of all time, Lara composing a platinum album--and ends in Pierce's brutal murder. As Emily digs into the villa's complicated history, she begins to think there might be more to the story of that fateful summer in 1974. That perhaps Pierce's murder wasn't just a tale of sex, drugs, and rock & roll gone wrong, but that something more sinister might have occurred--and that there might be clues hidden in the now-iconic works that Mari and Lara left behind. Yet the closer that Emily gets to the truth, the more tension she feels developing between her and Chess. As secrets from the past come to light, equally dangerous betrayals from the present also emerge--and it begins to look like the villa will claim another victim before the summer ends. Inspired by Fleetwood Mac, the Manson murders, and the infamous summer Percy and Mary Shelley spent with Lord Byron at a Lake Geneva castle--the birthplace of Frankenstein--The Villa welcomes you into its deadly legacy"--

Inga biblioteksbeskrivningar kunde hittas.

Bokbeskrivning
Haiku-sammanfattning

Pågående diskussioner

Ingen/inga

Populära omslag

Snabblänkar

Betyg

Medelbetyg: (3.72)
0.5
1 1
1.5
2 7
2.5 5
3 37
3.5 14
4 52
4.5 9
5 23

Är det här du?

Bli LibraryThing-författare.

 

Om | Kontakt | LibraryThing.com | Sekretess/Villkor | Hjälp/Vanliga frågor | Blogg | Butik | APIs | TinyCat | Efterlämnade bibliotek | Förhandsrecensenter | Allmänna fakta | 208,805,354 böcker! | Topplisten: Alltid synlig