HemGrupperDiskuteraMerTidsandan
Sök igenom hela webbplatsen
Denna webbplats använder kakor för att fungera optimalt, analysera användarbeteende och för att visa reklam (om du inte är inloggad). Genom att använda LibraryThing intygar du att du har läst och förstått våra Regler och integritetspolicy. All användning av denna webbplats lyder under dessa regler.

Resultat från Google Book Search

Klicka på en bild för att gå till Google Book Search.

Laddar...

The Shadow Girl

av Shannon Hollinger

Serier: Chief Maggie Riley (3)

MedlemmarRecensionerPopularitetGenomsnittligt betygDiskussioner
314,114,193 (5)Ingen/inga
Ever since I tried to escape, he's been keeping me in the dark. My bones ache with the cold. The longer I sit, trapped alone with just my thoughts, the more I worry... What if this is it? What if I never get to leave? The sun is rising on another cold winter's day in Coyote Cove when Chief Maggie Riley finds an unmarked envelope on the steps of the police station. Inside is a photo of a teenage girl, bound and bruised. Maggie's heart constricts at the terror in her tear-filled eyes. Who is she? What has happened to her? Who would have left this photo, but done nothing else to help? Maggie moved to Coyote Cove for a quieter life after her beloved young brother went missing five years ago. And this case feels as personal as anything she's worked on since then. With no one reporting the girl missing, seemingly unloved and forgotten, Maggie vows to rescue her, and bring whoever hurt her to justice. As Maggie mines the photograph for clues to hunt down the girl and her captor, her search takes her deep into the seedy, dangerous underbelly of the secretive logging camps. Hidden away in the woods, a law unto themselves, Maggie is in unchartered-and deadly-territory. Then she finds the body of a girl who was said to have run away years ago, one with ties of her own to the loggers. And Maggie knows she's on the right track. But as her search for the truth intensifies, Maggie's own safety is threatened. Can she save an innocent girl's life and get out alive herself, or could this be the one investigation she won't survive...? A dark and totally gripping crime thriller, perfect for fans of D.K. Hood, Melinda Leigh and Lisa Regan. Readers love Shannon Hollinger: "LOVE, LOVE, LOVED THIS BOOK!!... OMG!!!!... MIND BLOWN... Wow!!!... Had me hook, line and sinker from beginning to end... The hair on my arms was standing on end and my heart was pounding... Kept me on the edge of my seat throughout... I read this in one sitting as I could not put it down!!... Absolutely hooked!! I LOVED it." bookworm86, ????? "Wow! I totally loved this book! Such a fabulous read!... kept me gripped from beginning to end... Can't give this enough big stars. Highly recommend." Goodreads reviewer, ????? "Jaw-dropping... kept me guessing and on the edge of my seat... excellent!" Bookishlaurenh, ???? "Shannon Hollinger took me on a TRIP - wow... I thought I had this figured out, but boy was I wrong... I was turning pages like a mad lady... I did NOT expect that ending at ALL... excellent... I was staring at my wall thinking "wow....."" Goodreads reviewer, ???? "HOLY BUCKETS... excellent... intense... twists and turns will give you whiplash... fantastic. I loved the darkness and mystery... The way the pieces fell into place was so insane I couldn't turn the pages fast enough... a scary, twisted, dark thrill ride from start to finish!" Goodreads reviewer, ?????… (mer)

Inga taggar

Ingen/inga
Laddar...

Gå med i LibraryThing för att få reda på om du skulle tycka om den här boken.

Det finns inga diskussioner på LibraryThing om den här boken.

The Shadow Girl by Shannon Hollinger
Chief Maggie Riley #3

Dark, gritty, and compelling ~ Could not put this book down!

What I liked:
* Chief Maggie Riley: brilliant, capable, skilled detective, listens to her gut instincts, moved to Coyote Cove, Maine after a personal loss and going rogue at work, engaged to Steve, upholds the law, works with minimal staff, has a difficult relationship with her parents, brother disappeared when he was young, has a missing girl to find in this series while still dealing with a population that is less than accepting
* Steve Winters: Maggie’s fiancé, financial wiz who lost his fire and moved to the country, understands and loves Maggie, protective, loving, caring, loves his mother and sister though they are not always easy, has secrets from the past that are beginning to emerge – do hope he can figure out what to do about Wesley,
* Kal Kishore: New lieutenant hired by Maggie at the end of the last book, wants a change of scene, has dealt with racial bigotry, broke up with his fiancé before moving to Coyote Cove…seems there is a secret that may come out later, strong, reliable, intelligent, does what it takes, gets the job done, want to know more about him
* Sue: Maggie’s assistant at work, wears interesting clothes to work, a bit of a mother-hen
* The mysteries to be solved: a deceased “runaway” teen that has been gone a couple of years, an abused teen, and a potentially abducted teen to be found – the killer(s) need to be found
* The issues related to Maggie’s brother and parents, Steve’s old “friend” that shows up in this book – imagine he will have a part in the next, wondering how the issue of Maggie’s brother will be resolved, and how the town is beginning to come around and accept the Chief and her team
* The setting, plot, pacing, and writing that was emotive, visceral, visual, immersive, emotive, and at times humorous
* How all the pieces fit together seamlessly
* That it made me think and feel and care and consider the “what-ifs”
* Wondering what will happen next

What I didn’t like:
* Who and what I was meant not to like
* Thinking about predators and the harm they do
* Being so upset by the adults who kept glossing over and blaming the teens rather than believing them

Did I enjoy this book? Yes
Would I read more in this series? Definitely

Thank you to NetGalley and Bookouture for the ARC – This is my honest review.

5 Stars ( )
  CathyGeha | Oct 11, 2023 |
inga recensioner | lägg till en recension

Ingår i serien

Du måste logga in för att ändra Allmänna fakta.
Mer hjälp finns på hjälpsidan för Allmänna fakta.
Vedertagen titel
Information från den engelska sidan med allmänna fakta. Redigera om du vill anpassa till ditt språk.
Originaltitel
Alternativa titlar
Första utgivningsdatum
Personer/gestalter
Viktiga platser
Viktiga händelser
Relaterade filmer
Motto
Dedikation
Inledande ord
Citat
Avslutande ord
Särskiljningsnotis
Förlagets redaktörer
På omslaget citeras
Ursprungsspråk
Kanonisk DDC/MDS
Kanonisk LCC

Hänvisningar till detta verk hos externa resurser.

Wikipedia på engelska

Ingen/inga

Ever since I tried to escape, he's been keeping me in the dark. My bones ache with the cold. The longer I sit, trapped alone with just my thoughts, the more I worry... What if this is it? What if I never get to leave? The sun is rising on another cold winter's day in Coyote Cove when Chief Maggie Riley finds an unmarked envelope on the steps of the police station. Inside is a photo of a teenage girl, bound and bruised. Maggie's heart constricts at the terror in her tear-filled eyes. Who is she? What has happened to her? Who would have left this photo, but done nothing else to help? Maggie moved to Coyote Cove for a quieter life after her beloved young brother went missing five years ago. And this case feels as personal as anything she's worked on since then. With no one reporting the girl missing, seemingly unloved and forgotten, Maggie vows to rescue her, and bring whoever hurt her to justice. As Maggie mines the photograph for clues to hunt down the girl and her captor, her search takes her deep into the seedy, dangerous underbelly of the secretive logging camps. Hidden away in the woods, a law unto themselves, Maggie is in unchartered-and deadly-territory. Then she finds the body of a girl who was said to have run away years ago, one with ties of her own to the loggers. And Maggie knows she's on the right track. But as her search for the truth intensifies, Maggie's own safety is threatened. Can she save an innocent girl's life and get out alive herself, or could this be the one investigation she won't survive...? A dark and totally gripping crime thriller, perfect for fans of D.K. Hood, Melinda Leigh and Lisa Regan. Readers love Shannon Hollinger: "LOVE, LOVE, LOVED THIS BOOK!!... OMG!!!!... MIND BLOWN... Wow!!!... Had me hook, line and sinker from beginning to end... The hair on my arms was standing on end and my heart was pounding... Kept me on the edge of my seat throughout... I read this in one sitting as I could not put it down!!... Absolutely hooked!! I LOVED it." bookworm86, ????? "Wow! I totally loved this book! Such a fabulous read!... kept me gripped from beginning to end... Can't give this enough big stars. Highly recommend." Goodreads reviewer, ????? "Jaw-dropping... kept me guessing and on the edge of my seat... excellent!" Bookishlaurenh, ???? "Shannon Hollinger took me on a TRIP - wow... I thought I had this figured out, but boy was I wrong... I was turning pages like a mad lady... I did NOT expect that ending at ALL... excellent... I was staring at my wall thinking "wow....."" Goodreads reviewer, ???? "HOLY BUCKETS... excellent... intense... twists and turns will give you whiplash... fantastic. I loved the darkness and mystery... The way the pieces fell into place was so insane I couldn't turn the pages fast enough... a scary, twisted, dark thrill ride from start to finish!" Goodreads reviewer, ?????

Inga biblioteksbeskrivningar kunde hittas.

Bokbeskrivning
Haiku-sammanfattning

LibraryThing-författare

Shannon Hollinger är en LibraryThing-författare, en författare som lägger upp sitt personliga bibliotek på LibraryThing.

profilsida | författarsida

Pågående diskussioner

Ingen/inga

Populära omslag

Snabblänkar

Genrer

Inga genrer

Betyg

Medelbetyg: (5)
0.5
1
1.5
2
2.5
3
3.5
4
4.5
5 1

 

Om | Kontakt | LibraryThing.com | Sekretess/Villkor | Hjälp/Vanliga frågor | Blogg | Butik | APIs | TinyCat | Efterlämnade bibliotek | Förhandsrecensenter | Allmänna fakta | 204,146,680 böcker! | Topplisten: Alltid synlig