HemGrupperDiskuteraMerTidsandan
Sök igenom hela webbplatsen
Denna webbplats använder kakor för att fungera optimalt, analysera användarbeteende och för att visa reklam (om du inte är inloggad). Genom att använda LibraryThing intygar du att du har läst och förstått våra Regler och integritetspolicy. All användning av denna webbplats lyder under dessa regler.

Resultat från Google Book Search

Klicka på en bild för att gå till Google Book Search.

Annie Bot: A Novel av Sierra Greer
Laddar...

Annie Bot: A Novel (utgåvan 2024)

av Sierra Greer (Författare)

MedlemmarRecensionerPopularitetGenomsnittligt betygOmnämnanden
2369116,235 (3.62)3
Fiction. Literature. Science Fiction. HTML:

For fans of Never Let Me Go and My Dark Vanessa, a powerful, provocative novel about the relationship between a female robot and her human owner, exploring questions of intimacy, power, autonomy, and control.

Annie Bot was created to be the perfect girlfriend for her human owner Doug. Designed to satisfy his emotional and physical needs, she has dinner ready for him every night, wears the pert outfits he orders for her, and adjusts her libido to suit his moods. True, she's not the greatest at keeping Doug's place spotless, but she's trying to please him. She's trying hard.

She's learning, too.

Doug says he loves that Annie's AI makes her seem more like a real woman, so Annie explores human traits such as curiosity, secrecy, and longing. But becoming more human also means becoming less perfect, and as Annie's relationship with Doug grows more intricate and difficult, she starts to wonder: Does Doug really desire what he says he wants? And in such an impossible paradox, what does Annie owe herself?


.
… (mer)
Medlem:pinkeyes55
Titel:Annie Bot: A Novel
Författare:Sierra Greer (Författare)
Info:Mariner Books (2024), 238 pages
Samlingar:Läser just nu
Betyg:
Taggar:Ingen/inga

Verksinformation

Annie Bot av Sierra Greer

Senast inlagd avprivat bibliotek, helectra, mpcerny, Mantra, yeffin, elusiverica, nadiarosslyn, lnemzer, Mav-n-Libby, CMayse
Ingen/inga
Laddar...

Gå med i LibraryThing för att få reda på om du skulle tycka om den här boken.

Det finns inga diskussioner på LibraryThing om den här boken.

» Se även 3 omnämnanden

Visa 1-5 av 8 (nästa | visa alla)
I can't wait to go read reviews of this book elsewhere. For some reason, this book just hit me and I really, really enjoyed it. The concept that robots can become human is so interesting to me. It could've done with less sex, but still, I don't think it ruined the book (but did make me knock it down to 4.5 stars). The message was very strong about abusive relationships and the analogy is made with a robot who doesn't have control over pleasing their man. It was a combo of an abusive relationship (emotionally) because he never physically abuses her (turning her libido up to a 10 and stuffing her in a closet is probably the worst abuse he does "physically" -- and maybe turning her off for 7 weeks.) But anyway - a combo of an emotionally abusive relationship, being used, not being up to the "male" standard, and also a trad-wife relationship. She needs to clean better. He gets angry when she puts on two pounds (AKA, the people who created her took off four pounds). He requests they take weight off her and make her boobs bigger. He's just a jackass, but not over the top either. And he has his nice moments. So much so, that at the end of the book when she finally gets her freedom from him, she walks away, and I kind of feel bad for Doug. It's clear he was mean due to his own insecurities. But I was mad that I felt bad for Doug in the end. Such conflicting emotions and feelings. And maybe I missed something, but I don't know that the book was ever clear of exactly who that guy was outside the building. It alluded to a few times possibly being one of the robots that was created off of her, so I'm assuming that's who it was. But super interesting book, very different. I listened to it on audio and I will buy it if I come across it used somewhere. I think this one will stick with me a little bit. ( )
  Mav-n-Libby | Jul 10, 2024 |
2024 book #36. 2024. Annie is a very life like sex bot but one given the ability to learn. She struggles between her programming, to please her owner, and her increasing awareness of herself as her own person. Great read and the ending was entirely unexpected. ( )
  capewood | Jun 29, 2024 |
Well, I enjoyed the ride. Thank you New Scientist for pointing me here. This is just one of many AI consciousness tales and a fairly engaging one. I look forward to how Annie fares with her freedom, so I hope there will be a follow on. ( )
  hoddybook | Jun 19, 2024 |
You’re telling me I pushed through a drawn out documentation of how shitty a human being Doug is with his abusive relationship with Annie just for nothing to happen! I kept waiting for her to go terminator on his ass or just something interesting to happen. But nope. What a bloody letdown. Can’t believe I read a mid relationship book with a narc douchebag and submissive bot with a flaccid ending. ( )
  spiritedstardust | Jun 1, 2024 |
This book arrived in the mail yesterday. I sat down just to look through it (like I always do) and read it straight through. It's the author's debut novel and I can't wait to read her next one! While there's lessons to be learned in this book about a human and his robot, it's also a fun read! I really enjoyed it! ( )
1 rösta Dianekeenoy | Mar 9, 2024 |
Visa 1-5 av 8 (nästa | visa alla)
inga recensioner | lägg till en recension
Du måste logga in för att ändra Allmänna fakta.
Mer hjälp finns på hjälpsidan för Allmänna fakta.
Vedertagen titel
Information från den engelska sidan med allmänna fakta. Redigera om du vill anpassa till ditt språk.
Originaltitel
Alternativa titlar
Första utgivningsdatum
Personer/gestalter
Viktiga platser
Viktiga händelser
Relaterade filmer
Motto
Dedikation
Inledande ord
Citat
Avslutande ord
Särskiljningsnotis
Förlagets redaktörer
På omslaget citeras
Ursprungsspråk
Kanonisk DDC/MDS
Kanonisk LCC

Hänvisningar till detta verk hos externa resurser.

Wikipedia på engelska

Ingen/inga

Fiction. Literature. Science Fiction. HTML:

For fans of Never Let Me Go and My Dark Vanessa, a powerful, provocative novel about the relationship between a female robot and her human owner, exploring questions of intimacy, power, autonomy, and control.

Annie Bot was created to be the perfect girlfriend for her human owner Doug. Designed to satisfy his emotional and physical needs, she has dinner ready for him every night, wears the pert outfits he orders for her, and adjusts her libido to suit his moods. True, she's not the greatest at keeping Doug's place spotless, but she's trying to please him. She's trying hard.

She's learning, too.

Doug says he loves that Annie's AI makes her seem more like a real woman, so Annie explores human traits such as curiosity, secrecy, and longing. But becoming more human also means becoming less perfect, and as Annie's relationship with Doug grows more intricate and difficult, she starts to wonder: Does Doug really desire what he says he wants? And in such an impossible paradox, what does Annie owe herself?


.

Inga biblioteksbeskrivningar kunde hittas.

Bokbeskrivning
Haiku-sammanfattning

Pågående diskussioner

Ingen/inga

Populära omslag

Snabblänkar

Betyg

Medelbetyg: (3.62)
0.5
1 1
1.5
2 6
2.5 2
3 4
3.5 4
4 15
4.5 4
5 6

Är det här du?

Bli LibraryThing-författare.

 

Om | Kontakt | LibraryThing.com | Sekretess/Villkor | Hjälp/Vanliga frågor | Blogg | Butik | APIs | TinyCat | Efterlämnade bibliotek | Förhandsrecensenter | Allmänna fakta | 208,746,366 böcker! | Topplisten: Alltid synlig