HemGrupperDiskuteraMerTidsandan
Sök igenom hela webbplatsen
Denna webbplats använder kakor för att fungera optimalt, analysera användarbeteende och för att visa reklam (om du inte är inloggad). Genom att använda LibraryThing intygar du att du har läst och förstått våra Regler och integritetspolicy. All användning av denna webbplats lyder under dessa regler.

Resultat från Google Book Search

Klicka på en bild för att gå till Google Book Search.

Laddar...

Mysterious Universe: Supernovae, Dark Energy, and Black Holes

av Ellen Jackson, Nic Bishop (Fotograf)

MedlemmarRecensionerPopularitetGenomsnittligt betygOmnämnanden
1128242,984 (3.56)1
Follow Dr. Alex Fillippenko and his High-Z Supernova Search Team to Mauna Kea volcano in Hawaii, where they will study space phenomena and look for supernovae, dying stars that explode with the power of billions of hydrogen bombs. Dr. Fillippenko looks for black holes--areas in space with such a strong gravitational pull that no matter or energy can escape from them--with his robotic telescope. And they study the effects of dark energy, the mysterious force that scientists believe is pushing the universe apart, causing its constant and accelerating expansion.… (mer)
Laddar...

Gå med i LibraryThing för att få reda på om du skulle tycka om den här boken.

Det finns inga diskussioner på LibraryThing om den här boken.

» Se även 1 omnämnande

Visa 1-5 av 8 (nästa | visa alla)
This book is so informative it's amazing. The book, for the most part, follows the daily activities of Alex Filippeko as he tries to uncover the mysterious of our universe. For fans of "Through the Wormhole" and 'The Universe", you will be surprise to see that this book is basically the written version of some of those episodes. Also, the pictures are stunning and dazzling. ( )
  Remy_Ferrell | Nov 28, 2014 |
A look into the mystery of space. Nic Bishop does the photos, gives great photos of the space.
  Emily.Small | Mar 10, 2014 |
I'm going to put this somewhere between 3-1/2 and 4 stars. This is a rating in the context of the age group it was written for which is listed in the resource I use for age considerations as 8 to 12 year olds. It seems to me that the intention was to cover the subject in a way that would spark an interest in those just being introduced to science in general and astronomy/physics in particular. I believe it would do an excellent job of that. If you have any knowledge of the subject at all you probably won't get much out of it. It was a little hard sticking with this for me but some of the things I read are for the sake of evaluating whether I want to pass them on to a couple young friends. This will definitely be one that I pass on. ( )
  Yona | May 2, 2013 |
This book is about Alex Filippenko, an astronomer, who studies supernovae, dark energy, and black holes. It explains his job descriptions and the type of telescopes he uses to view space. He gives lots of information and facts throughout the book about the universe and a few pages about himself.
This book does not follow any order; it jumps from subject to subject and was hard to follow. Also, it was difficult to retain any of the information because the reader is trying to figure out what the author is discussing.
The illustrations fit well with the content of the book. There were plenty of bright, real-life images of stars, supernovae, and many other space related objects.
I thought the content level in this book was suitable for high school science classes; however, I would not use this book in my class. I thought it was hard to follow and was too technical. I read it out loud to my sixth grade son. He did not like the book and had a hard time keeping up with what subject was being discussed. ( )
  JCHolmes | Jan 31, 2013 |
The Mysterious Universe was a fascinating account of a day in the life of an astronomer. Often times students think that an astronomer only looks through a telescope and finds starts. This book of the Scientist in the Field series, really breaks down some deep, mind-boggling concepts for a middle school reader. The descriptions about supernovae and black holes leave the reader feeling not only well-informed, but also understanding his or her place in this ever growing universe. Mysterious Universe also leaves a reader with questions - a sign that the book, in a sense, worked. The scientist, Alex Fillippenko, is just a regular guy with a great sense of humor. This makes the idea of being a scientist so much closer to home than what a typical middle school student may think. While this book would be more applicable to a science class, I would quickly recommend it to any student who has an interest in science or space. It could also be used in a collaborative, interdisciplinary unit that is stirring in my head. ( )
  econnick | Nov 23, 2012 |
Visa 1-5 av 8 (nästa | visa alla)
inga recensioner | lägg till en recension

» Lägg till fler författare

Författarens namnRollTyp av författareVerk?Status
Ellen Jacksonprimär författarealla utgåvorberäknat
Bishop, NicFotografhuvudförfattarealla utgåvorbekräftat
Du måste logga in för att ändra Allmänna fakta.
Mer hjälp finns på hjälpsidan för Allmänna fakta.
Vedertagen titel
Information från den engelska sidan med allmänna fakta. Redigera om du vill anpassa till ditt språk.
Originaltitel
Alternativa titlar
Första utgivningsdatum
Personer/gestalter
Viktiga platser
Viktiga händelser
Relaterade filmer
Motto
Dedikation
Inledande ord
Citat
Avslutande ord
Särskiljningsnotis
Förlagets redaktörer
På omslaget citeras
Ursprungsspråk
Kanonisk DDC/MDS
Kanonisk LCC

Hänvisningar till detta verk hos externa resurser.

Wikipedia på engelska

Ingen/inga

Follow Dr. Alex Fillippenko and his High-Z Supernova Search Team to Mauna Kea volcano in Hawaii, where they will study space phenomena and look for supernovae, dying stars that explode with the power of billions of hydrogen bombs. Dr. Fillippenko looks for black holes--areas in space with such a strong gravitational pull that no matter or energy can escape from them--with his robotic telescope. And they study the effects of dark energy, the mysterious force that scientists believe is pushing the universe apart, causing its constant and accelerating expansion.

Inga biblioteksbeskrivningar kunde hittas.

Bokbeskrivning
Haiku-sammanfattning

Pågående diskussioner

Ingen/inga

Populära omslag

Snabblänkar

Betyg

Medelbetyg: (3.56)
0.5
1
1.5 1
2
2.5 1
3 3
3.5 2
4 8
4.5
5 1

Är det här du?

Bli LibraryThing-författare.

 

Om | Kontakt | LibraryThing.com | Sekretess/Villkor | Hjälp/Vanliga frågor | Blogg | Butik | APIs | TinyCat | Efterlämnade bibliotek | Förhandsrecensenter | Allmänna fakta | 204,382,075 böcker! | Topplisten: Alltid synlig