HemGrupperDiskuteraMerTidsandan
Sök igenom hela webbplatsen
Denna webbplats använder kakor för att fungera optimalt, analysera användarbeteende och för att visa reklam (om du inte är inloggad). Genom att använda LibraryThing intygar du att du har läst och förstått våra Regler och integritetspolicy. All användning av denna webbplats lyder under dessa regler.

Resultat från Google Book Search

Klicka på en bild för att gå till Google Book Search.

Laddar...

The Girl Who Circumnavigated Fairyland in a Ship of Her Own Making (2011)

av Catherynne M. Valente

Andra författare: Se under Andra författare.

Serier: The Girl Who (1)

MedlemmarRecensionerPopularitetGenomsnittligt betygOmnämnanden
3,8572583,259 (4.06)334
Twelve-year-old September's ordinary life in Omaha turns to adventure when a Green Wind takes her to Fairyland to retrieve a talisman the new and fickle Marquess wants from the enchanted woods.
  1. 190
    Alice i Underlandet av Lewis Carroll (kaledrina, Crumble_Tumble)
    Crumble_Tumble: Both of these fantasy tales are a bit out there, a little crazy, a little hard to undestand. But once you get it, it's amazing. I LOVE these kinds of books
  2. 181
    The Phantom Tollbooth av Norton Juster (aarti, calmclam)
  3. 150
    Stjärnstoft av Neil Gaiman (aarti, Jannes, rakerman)
    Jannes: Gaiman might be inspired by Dunsany and Mirrlees while Valente leans slightly more toward Carroll and Baum, but both of them are modern authors tackling the classic fairytale, both are great stylists, and both books are highly enjoyable.
    rakerman: Stardust is also a modern fairy tale, but I found it to be a much stronger book. The flow of chapter by chapter standalone encounters in The Girl was light and entertaining but for me had a weaker narrative flow than in Stardust.
  4. 123
    Un Lun Dun av China Miéville (foggidawn)
  5. 80
    Trollkarlen från Oz av L. Frank Baum (ErisofDiscord)
  6. 81
    Coraline av Neil Gaiman (foggidawn)
  7. 60
    Palimpsest av Catherynne Valente (Jannes)
    Jannes: The Girl Who Circumnavigated Fairyland was first concieved in Palimpsest as one of the protaginists' favourite book. Then it sort got a life of it's own, so to speak. Palimpsest is probably not for children, though.
  8. 50
    Kyrkogårdsboken av Neil Gaiman (clfisha)
    clfisha: Its not a fairytale but if your looking for more inventive, rich and dark YA try this.
  9. 50
    Flora Segunda: Being the Magickal Mishaps of a Girl of Spirit, Her Glass-Gazing Sidekick, Two Ominous Butlers (One Blue), a House with Eleven Thousand Rooms, and a Red Dog av Ysabeau S. Wilce (macsbrains)
  10. 50
    Små blå män av Terry Pratchett (MyriadBooks)
  11. 40
    Bortom nordanvinden av George MacDonald (rakerman)
    rakerman: Wind spirits play an important role in both The Girl and At the Back of the North Wind. The books both have aspects of wonder and sorrow, with a similar idea of a child taken away into a magical land.
  12. 73
    Harun och Sagornas hav av Salman Rushdie (lorax)
    lorax: Both are beautifully written fairy tales about young people traveling to another world, readable by kids but with much for adults to enjoy.
  13. 10
    Furthermore av Tahereh Mafi (aethercowboy)
  14. 10
    The Nex av Tim Pratt (TomWaitsTables)
  15. 21
    Peter Pan och Wendy av J. M. Barrie (MickyFine)
  16. 21
    Rose Daughter av Robin McKinley (baseballbabe)
  17. 10
    Dragonfly av Frederic S. Durbin (jessinfl)
  18. 00
    The Habitation of the Blessed av Catherynne M. Valente (LBV123)
  19. 11
    The Book of Lost Things av John Connolly (jessinfl)
  20. 00
    The Boy with the Cuckoo-Clock Heart av Mathias Malzieu (AlexDraven)

(visa alla 27 rekommendationerna)

Laddar...

Gå med i LibraryThing för att få reda på om du skulle tycka om den här boken.

Det finns inga diskussioner på LibraryThing om den här boken.

» Se även 334 omnämnanden

engelska (256)  ungerska (1)  tyska (1)  Alla språk (258)
Visa 1-5 av 258 (nästa | visa alla)
This was difficult to start, but so easy to finish. It took a while for me to get into Valente's ultra-whimsical writing style, but by the middle of the book I couldn't put it down.

Definitely will be reading the rest of this series. ( )
  mrsandersonreads23 | Apr 14, 2024 |
"When you are born, your courage is new and clean. You are brave enough for anything: crawling off of staircases, saying your first words without fearing that someone will think you are foolish, putting strange things in your mouth. But as you get older, your courage attracts gunk and crusty things and dirt and fear and knowing how bad things can get and what pain feels like. By the time you're half-grown, your courage barely moves at all, it's so grunged up with living." ( )
1 rösta sashery | Jan 29, 2024 |
This is a delightful, rich, well-written story. I had to read every single word or risk missing some lovely detail. I was devoted to the main character and her fascinating friends. There was an underlying creepy sexual vibe that occasionally made me uncomfortable (the 12 year old September is “ravished”, which in this context means brought to Fairyland by the Green Wind, but left me feeling a little uncomfortable. ( )
  mslibrarynerd | Jan 13, 2024 |
This book was about a very fine adventure. It should be read, out loud, to people of all ages, especially those who live in such interesting times as ours. ( )
  mimo | Dec 18, 2023 |
Valente creates a classic children's fantasy adventure in the vein of Alice's Adventures in Wonderland and The Wonderful Wizard of Oz with touches of Terry Pratchett and Lemony Snicket. September, a twelve-year-old girl from Omaha, Nebraska is drawn into Fairyland. Soon agrees to help some witches by stealing back a wooden spoon from Fairyland's tyrannical ruler the Marquess. She is helped by A-Through-L, a hybrid wyvern and library, and a marid named Saturday. But the Marquess gives her another quest, to recover a magical sword, while simultaneously hindering all of September's efforts.

And all of this happens well before September circumnavigates Fairyland in a ship of her own making. This novel is wonderfully imaginative and funny, deconstructing fantasy literature while also celebrating it. I expect to be reading more novels in this series. ( )
  Othemts | Nov 15, 2023 |
Visa 1-5 av 258 (nästa | visa alla)
I won’t lie. Some folks do NOT like this book, and I can understand why that is. For me, though, this is just one of the smarter juxtapositions of the fantastical with the tongue-twisted. Here you have an author who clearly enjoys writing. And if that enjoyment seeps through the page and into the reader’s perceptions, then here is a book that they’ll clearly enjoy reading. A true original and like nothing you’ve really ever seen before.
tillagd av PhoenixFalls | ändraSchool Library Journal (Jun 1, 2011)
 
Told by an omniscient narrator who directly engages readers, the densely textured text deftly mixes and matches familiar fairytale elements, creating a world as bizarre and enchanting as any Wonderland or Oz and a heroine as curious, resourceful and brave as any Alice or Dorothy. Complex, rich and memorable.
tillagd av melonbrawl | ändraKirkus Reviews (Apr 1, 2011)
 
The book's appeal is crystal clear from the outset: this is a kind of The Wonderful Wizard of Oz by way of Alice's Adventures in Wonderland, made vivid by Juan's Tenniel-inflected illustrations.
tillagd av PhoenixFalls | ändraPublisher's Weekly (Mar 14, 2011)
 

» Lägg till fler författare

Författarens namnRollTyp av författareVerk?Status
Valente, Catherynne M.primär författarealla utgåvorbekräftat
Juan, AnaIllustratörmedförfattarevissa utgåvorbekräftat
Du måste logga in för att ändra Allmänna fakta.
Mer hjälp finns på hjälpsidan för Allmänna fakta.
Vedertagen titel
Information från den engelska sidan med allmänna fakta. Redigera om du vill anpassa till ditt språk.
Originaltitel
Alternativa titlar
Första utgivningsdatum
Personer/gestalter
Information från den engelska sidan med allmänna fakta. Redigera om du vill anpassa till ditt språk.
Viktiga platser
Information från den engelska sidan med allmänna fakta. Redigera om du vill anpassa till ditt språk.
Viktiga händelser
Relaterade filmer
Motto
Dedikation
Information från den engelska sidan med allmänna fakta. Redigera om du vill anpassa till ditt språk.
For all those who walked this strange road with me,
and held out their hands when I faltered.
This is a ship of our own making.
Inledande ord
Information från den engelska sidan med allmänna fakta. Redigera om du vill anpassa till ditt språk.
Chapter 1

Exeunt on a Leopard
In Which a Girl Named September Is Spirited Off by Means of a Leopard, Learns the Rules of Fairyland, and Solves a Puzzle

Once upon a time, a girl named September grew very tired indeed of her parents' house, where she washed the same pink-and-yellow teacups and matching gravy boats every day, slept on the same embroidered pillow, and played with the same small and amiable dog.

Citat
Information från den engelska sidan med allmänna fakta. Redigera om du vill anpassa till ditt språk.
One ought not judge: All children are heartless. They have not grown up yet, which is why they can climb tall trees and say shocking things and leap so very high that grown-up hearts flutter in terror. Hearts weigh quite a lot. That is why it takes so long to grow one.

Hats have power. They can change you into someone else.

When one is traveling, everything looks brighter and lovelier. That does not mean it is brighter and lovelier; it just means that sweet, kindly home suffers in comparison to tarted-up foreign places with all their jewels on.

Stories have a way of changing faces. They are unruly things, undisciplined, given to delinquency and the throwing of erasers. This is why we must close them up into thick, solid books, so they cannot get out and cause trouble.
In September's world, many things began with pan. Pandemic, Pangaea, Panacea, Panoply. These were all big words, to be sure, but as has been said, September read often, and liked it best when words did not pretend to be simple, but put on their full armor and rode out with colors flying.
Avslutande ord
Information från den engelska sidan med allmänna fakta. Redigera om du vill anpassa till ditt språk.
(Klicka för att visa. Varning: Kan innehålla spoilers.)
Särskiljningsnotis
Förlagets redaktörer
På omslaget citeras
Information från den engelska sidan med allmänna fakta. Redigera om du vill anpassa till ditt språk.
Ursprungsspråk
Kanonisk DDC/MDS
Kanonisk LCC

Hänvisningar till detta verk hos externa resurser.

Wikipedia på engelska (1)

Twelve-year-old September's ordinary life in Omaha turns to adventure when a Green Wind takes her to Fairyland to retrieve a talisman the new and fickle Marquess wants from the enchanted woods.

Inga biblioteksbeskrivningar kunde hittas.

Bokbeskrivning
Haiku-sammanfattning

Pågående diskussioner

Ingen/inga

Populära omslag

Snabblänkar

Betyg

Medelbetyg: (4.06)
0.5
1 15
1.5 1
2 37
2.5 5
3 132
3.5 42
4 323
4.5 55
5 313

Är det här du?

Bli LibraryThing-författare.

 

Om | Kontakt | LibraryThing.com | Sekretess/Villkor | Hjälp/Vanliga frågor | Blogg | Butik | APIs | TinyCat | Efterlämnade bibliotek | Förhandsrecensenter | Allmänna fakta | 208,373,066 böcker! | Topplisten: Alltid synlig