HemGrupperDiskuteraMerTidsandan
Sök igenom hela webbplatsen
Denna webbplats använder kakor för att fungera optimalt, analysera användarbeteende och för att visa reklam (om du inte är inloggad). Genom att använda LibraryThing intygar du att du har läst och förstått våra Regler och integritetspolicy. All användning av denna webbplats lyder under dessa regler.
Hide this

Resultat från Google Book Search

Klicka på en bild för att gå till Google Book Search.

Laddar...

Publish This Book: The Unbelievable True Story of How I Wrote, Sold and…

av Stephen Markley

MedlemmarRecensionerPopularitetGenomsnittligt betygOmnämnanden
441456,826 (3.65)2
From the author of Ohio(Best Books of Summer 2018 Selection in Time, Vulture, and theNew York Post) comes a brilliant, hilarious, and deeply touching memoir that blows the roof off the genre. Fed up with the complicated quest of trying to get a book published, Stephen Markley decided to cut to the chase and simply write a memoir about trying to publish a book--this book, to be precise. It's the most "meta" experiment he's ever untaken, and like a Mobius strip in book form, the concept is circular, self-indulgent, and--maybe, possibly, hopefully--brilliant. For fans of Dave Eggers and David Sedaris,Publish This Bookis the modern day saga of an idealistic, ambitious, audacious, unyielding young writer who is tired of waiting his turn. Like any work that claims gleefully to be about nothing, it's really about pretty much everything--sex, drugs, politics, pop-culture, ex-girlfriends and sexy vampires. From the hope of early adulthood to the rage of life's many (unavoidable) disappointments, it is a story of overcoming the obstacles and discovering a happy ending at last. Most importantly, it's a story that will inspire readers to find their true voice in their work and in their life. Praise for Stephen Markley: "Markley seems clever and funny, but it may be his "fire" that ultimately makes him worthwhile." -- Literary Chicago "Compelling, emotionally resonant passages . . ." -- Publishers Weekly "Markley is a knockout storyteller" --Kirkus Reviews… (mer)
Laddar...

Gå med i LibraryThing för att få reda på om du skulle tycka om den här boken.

Det finns inga diskussioner på LibraryThing om den här boken.

» Se även 2 omnämnanden

The story of 24-year-old Stephen Markley’s attempts to get a book published. Along the way he and others characters in his life who are reading it as he writes describe it as narcissistic, derivative, juvenile, smarmy, and selfish. Unfortunately, all of these are correct assessments. I will also add that almost all of the jokes and asides are not funny, though Markley tries very hard with his footnotes and frat-boy humor - though he assures us, he was not a frat boy. I can’t believe I finished it, and I’m glad it’s over. This book needed editing and restraint. Oh, and more of a soul. The three autobiographical digression chapters are the only ones of any value, and I give a half a star for each of those. ( )
  gbill | Mar 20, 2011 |
inga recensioner | lägg till en recension
Du måste logga in för att ändra Allmänna fakta.
Mer hjälp finns på hjälpsidan för Allmänna fakta.
Vedertagen titel
Originaltitel
Alternativa titlar
Första utgivningsdatum
Personer/gestalter
Viktiga platser
Information från den engelska sidan med allmänna fakta. Redigera om du vill anpassa till ditt språk.
Viktiga händelser
Relaterade filmer
Priser och utmärkelser
Motto
Dedikation
Information från den engelska sidan med allmänna fakta. Redigera om du vill anpassa till ditt språk.
For Sarah
They're pretty much all for you
But especially this first one
Inledande ord
Information från den engelska sidan med allmänna fakta. Redigera om du vill anpassa till ditt språk.
I had two ways to start this book.
Citat
Avslutande ord
Information från den engelska sidan med allmänna fakta. Redigera om du vill anpassa till ditt språk.
(Klicka för att visa. Varning: Kan innehålla spoilers.)
Särskiljningsnotis
Förlagets redaktörer
På omslaget citeras
Ursprungsspråk
Kanonisk DDC/MDS

Hänvisningar till detta verk hos externa resurser.

Wikipedia på engelska

Ingen/inga

From the author of Ohio(Best Books of Summer 2018 Selection in Time, Vulture, and theNew York Post) comes a brilliant, hilarious, and deeply touching memoir that blows the roof off the genre. Fed up with the complicated quest of trying to get a book published, Stephen Markley decided to cut to the chase and simply write a memoir about trying to publish a book--this book, to be precise. It's the most "meta" experiment he's ever untaken, and like a Mobius strip in book form, the concept is circular, self-indulgent, and--maybe, possibly, hopefully--brilliant. For fans of Dave Eggers and David Sedaris,Publish This Bookis the modern day saga of an idealistic, ambitious, audacious, unyielding young writer who is tired of waiting his turn. Like any work that claims gleefully to be about nothing, it's really about pretty much everything--sex, drugs, politics, pop-culture, ex-girlfriends and sexy vampires. From the hope of early adulthood to the rage of life's many (unavoidable) disappointments, it is a story of overcoming the obstacles and discovering a happy ending at last. Most importantly, it's a story that will inspire readers to find their true voice in their work and in their life. Praise for Stephen Markley: "Markley seems clever and funny, but it may be his "fire" that ultimately makes him worthwhile." -- Literary Chicago "Compelling, emotionally resonant passages . . ." -- Publishers Weekly "Markley is a knockout storyteller" --Kirkus Reviews

Inga biblioteksbeskrivningar kunde hittas.

Bokbeskrivning
Haiku-sammanfattning

Snabblänkar

Populära omslag

Betyg

Medelbetyg: (3.65)
0.5
1
1.5 1
2 1
2.5
3 1
3.5
4 5
4.5
5 2

Sourcebooks

En utgåva av denna bok gavs ut av Sourcebooks.

» Förlagets informationssida

Är det här du?

Bli LibraryThing-författare.

 

Om | Kontakt | LibraryThing.com | Sekretess/Villkor | Hjälp/Vanliga frågor | Blogg | Butik | APIs | TinyCat | Efterlämnade bibliotek | Förhandsrecensenter | Allmänna fakta | 160,270,244 böcker! | Topplisten: Alltid synlig